Alright, at this point, I’m either going to fill out this survey right this instant or I’m going to put off posting for no good reason, yet again.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
A supported handstand, got the shortest haircut I’ve had yet, wore a tie, went to Southern Comfort, had a layover (It made me nervous, and thus, it is noteworthy), assisted in the OR, learned how to do lab, took aspirin (not noteworthy except that I think I might have a slight aspirin sensitivity), used a French press (Why do I remember the things I do?), had conjunctivitis, swam laps.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
1. Attempt to write young adult lit yes
2. If not or even so, write more creative non-fiction yes–you’re looking at it
3. Draw/sketch more yes
4. Move up to the most advanced knitting patterns no
5. Travel more yes, mostly
6. Start moving toward an MSW no. Moved away from it and I’m glad. Maybe someday, though.
7. Go to more level 2 yoga classes yes
8. Write more snail mail no
9. Less useless internet time no
10. Get organized sorta
11. Figure out how to put myself first I think so
12. Establish and teach a Spanish class at work yes, but no one came, but I DID IT
13. Figure out how to cut my own hair (I already do it a bit) no
14. Be there for Nicole and Cecilia yes

3. Did anyone close to you have a child? Why, yes!
Morgan did! Rosie was born in March. And Ruby revealed her pregnancy.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Dr. Tiller was murdered.

5. Where did you travel?
Peachtree City, New York x2, Savannah, Hilton Head, Spartanburg.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2009?
A really big chair for reading. If that’s all I can come up with, I think I’m doing pretty well.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory?
January 20, when Obama was inaugurated; May 8, the day we had electrical problems at work (My mind works in strange ways); May 31, the day Dr. Tiller was assassinated; September 11, the day we went to the beach.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
My yoga practice has really grown, I learned a ton of new things at work, I’ve written more than I have since college, I stopped needing grad school to legitimize me, I felt confident with myself, I spoke at the vigil for Dr. Tiller, I think I was a good friend, I traveled in spite of my fears, I was happy with my body, I understood how exercise improves my mood, and I became more optimistic and thankful.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I wasn’t so good at keeping in touch.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Standard cold/allergies, but also conjunctivitis and swimmers’ ear and infected piercings.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Merrells, books, yarn, plane tickets to New York, gifts.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My family and friends and co-workers, the pro-choice and activist communities, Obama.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Stupak and his cronies.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and savings.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The inauguration, going to New York, my birthday, Halloween, Christmas, going to the beach, Wednesday nights with Kathryn.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Maybe Tegan & Sara’s The Con.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Same (though more balanced)
b) thinner or fatter? Same (though stronger)
c) richer or poorer? Richer (though modestly)

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Knitting, swimming, cleaning up.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Sitting around reading the internet, maybe.

20. How will you/did you spend Christmas?
At home with my immediate family, then the evening at Jeffrey’s house.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
Not newly. 🙂

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Still The Office, but also 30 Rock.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Scott Roeder wasn’t on my RADAR to hate, but he sure is now.

24. What was the best book you read?
Ooh, I read a lot. I didn’t have any five starers (out of five), but Olive Kitteridge, American Wife, Revolutionary Road, The Book Borrower, and Letter to my Daughter made an impression.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
How about discovering that I’m not obligated to like only impressive indie rock?

26. What did you want and get?
Most of my resolutions.

28. What did you want and not get?
Legwarmers.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
I didn’t see many, but probably (500) Days of Summer.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 27, and I decorated the Christmas tree and drank Bailey’s with my mom, went book and yarn shopping with her, ate a bunch of good food, went to Dynamic Dish and Paolo’s with Jeffrey, got surprise cookies at work, and had a big birthday dinner at Palate CAfe and Bar.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
No barriers to abortion and endless respect for providers.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
I think it actually improved a bit. Less silly things, more work-appropriate things, but still unique and comfortable and a tiny bit stylish. I wore more dangly earrings and enjoyed bolder glasses. I still shopped exclusively at Target, Old Navy, and thrift stores. And clothing swaps.

33. What kept you sane?
Family, friends, co-workers, yoga, walking, my journal, sunshine.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Barack and MIchelle, Tina Fey, LeRoy Carhart, Alix Olsen, Kate Harding, Sarah Haskins, Rachel Maddow, Mimi Smartypants (as usual).

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Um, abortion, even though it shouldn’t be political.

36. Who did you miss?
My family, my college roommates (the Suities), Roula until she moved back here (!), JJ and Charrow, Emma.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
I can never choose just one “best.” Alan D. and Julia H. P. and Laura Louise I. are definitely on the list, though.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
My life doesn’t have to impress anyone but me, and it really does impress me.

